Tips For Preparing A Bachelor, Master, Diplom Or Whatsoever Thesis

This one does always apply: If you have questions you can always ask your advisor!

Typical Outline

The following outline is just a suggestion. Certainly, some variation can sometimes be necessary. Especially the abstract, the introduction and the terminal part should be polished—but as the very last thing you do, just before you hand your thesis in.

Also take care for the demands of the department. Links will follows as soon as we found some information.

Statement On Oath

The following statement on oath is suggested by the "Prüfungsamt" (examination department):

\chapter*{Eidesstattliche Erkl"arung}
\addcontentsline{toc}{chapter}{Eidesstattliche Erkl"arung}

Die selbst"andige und eigenh"andige Ausfertigung versichert an Eides statt\\
Berlin, den \today

\vspace{4cm}

\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_
Unterschrift

Abstract

Short summary. It would be best to write it as the very last thing when the rest is already (nearly) done und you know exactly what you actually want to summarize. :)

Table of Contents

Obvious. :)

Chapter 1: Introduction

For the introduction (Einleitung) it is probably also best to write it later. But it depends on personal liking. persönlicher Geschmack. Structure:

Chapter 2: Background

This is for stuff that is necessary to understand your work but that your work doesn't really deal with, such as

Chapter 3: How Did I Approach The Problem?

This can, e.g., be an overview over a sketch of your own implementation if this is non-trivial.

If you bothered a lot about enhancements of your own implementation but you did not have enough time then you can spread your thoughts in this chapter and, e.g., sketch out what another developer has to take into account, or what would be a meaningful approach. Also, in your prospect (here: Chapter 7) you should refer to this part. On the other hand, eneral / indefinite "this enhancement would also be nice" statements should better be put solely into the last chapter (here: 7).

Chapter 4: Simple Results of Your Analysis

Which interesting data did your software produce?

Chapter 5: More Results of Your Analysis

dto.

Chapter 6: The Most Interesting Results of Your Analysis

Suspense curve

Chapter 7: Conclusion and Outlook

This chapter should logically be written at the end. E.g.

In this work we presented an approach for …/ a system for …/ blabla. The system is designed (blabla, summary of Chapter 3). Our results extended the works by (Chapter 2) and revealed that … (summary of Chapters 4, 56).

Possible Extensions of (Chapter 3) would be to support / Future work should address (Stuff that occured to me while implementing and/or that I didn't manage to implement, too). Other interesting analyses, which would be beyond the scope of this diplom thesis, could investigate whether … (Things that occured to me at the end of my work when I didn't have the time to even try that, too, mostly because I had to rewrite most parts of my software.)

Appendix

Bibliography

Optional

Always put the index at the very end. This is where the reader expects it. The order of the other three entries is not that fixed. Some people even put the lists of figures and tables in the beginning, right after the list of contents.

If you compile an index, please don't do that half-heartedly but list all appearances of a certain keyword. Better yet, all relevant, but all is still better than all of which I remembered to put them into the index. Well, and that works best if you go all the way from the very beginning – and, by the way, this becomes much more simple if you use the tips from the section on LaΤεΧ tips (\indexify command).

Detailed Outline

Before you begin to write your thesis properly down you should think about an outline and talk it over with your supervisor.
At this you should think of the following:

Basic Rules For Each Chapter, Each Section, And Most Of The Subsections.

Orthography and Style

Basic Rules About Graphics And Tables And Such

LaΤεΧ Specific

If you use something different than LaΤεΧ then you're—carefully said—very brave on the one hand, and on the other hand you have a good chance that your thesis will typographically look like shit. You have been warned!

You can also use our LaTeX template.

Making your thesis nicer

Optimizing your workflow

Typography (certainly applies also for non-LaΤεΧ users)

Tipps zur Anfertigung einer Diplom-, Master- oder ähnlichen Arbeit

Vorab gilt immer: Bei Fragen könnt Ihr Euch jederzeit an einen der Betreuer wenden.

Typische Gliederung

Die folgende Gliederung ist ein Vorschlag; natürlich können je nach Fall auch deutliche Abweichungen vonnöten sein. Besonders polieren sollte man – das aber erst ganz am Schluss, kurz vor Abgabe! – den Abstract, die Introduction und den Schlussteil.

Man beachte auch die Vorgaben des Fachbereichs. Hier werden, sobald wir etwas gefunden haben, Links folgen.

Eidesstattliche Erklärung

Die folgende Erklärung schlägt das Prüfungsamt vor:

\chapter*{Eidesstattliche Erkl"arung}
\addcontentsline{toc}{chapter}{Eidesstattliche Erkl"arung}

Die selbst"andige und eigenh"andige Ausfertigung versichert an Eides statt\\
Berlin, den \today

\vspace{4cm}

\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_
Unterschrift

Abstract

Kurze Zusammenfassung. Am besten erst ganz am Schluss schreiben, wenn der Rest schon (fast) fertig ist und man genau weiß, was man eigentlich zusammenfassen will. :)

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Klar. :)

Kapitel 1: Introduction

Auch bei der Introduction/Einleitung ist es vermutlich am einfachsten, wenn man sie erst später schreibt. Ist aber persönlicher Geschmack. Aufbau:

Kapitel 2: Background

Hier kommen diverse Sachen rein, die für das Verständnis der eigenen Arbeit wichtig sind, die aber nicht unmittelbar mit der eigenen Arbeit zu tun haben, z.B.

Kapitel 3: Wie bin ich an das Problem herangegangen?

z.B. Überblick über den Entwurf der eigenen Implementierung, falls nicht-trivial.

Falls man sich ausführliche Gedanken über Erweiterungen der eigenen Implementierung gemacht hat, für die man dann aber keine Zeit mehr hatte, dann darf man diese Gedanken auch ruhig ausbreiten und somit z.B. schonmal umreißen, auf was ein zukünftiger Entwickler dabei achten muss bzw. was vermutlich ein sinnvoller Ansatz wäre. Zusätzlich sollte im Ausblick (hier: Kapitel 7) nochmal kurz auf den entsprechenden Abschnitt verwiesen werden. Allgemeinere / unkonkretere "Diese-Erweiterung-wär-auch-noch-nett"-Aussagen sollten allerdings i.d.R. besser ausschließlich ins letzte Kapitel (hier: 7) fließen.

Kapitel 4: einfache Auswertungsergebnisse

Welche interessanten Daten hat meine Software ausgespuckt?

Kapitel 5: mehr Auswertungsergebnisse

s.o.

Kapitel 6: die interessantesten Auswertungsergebnisse

Spannungskurve

Kapitel 7: Conclusion and Outlook

Dieses Kapitel sollte logischerweise auch erst ganz am Schluss geschrieben werden. Beispiel:

In this work we presented an approach for …/ a system for …/ blabla. The system is designed (blabla, Zusammenfassung von Kapitel 3). Our results extended the works by (Kapitel 2) and revealed that … (Zusammenfassung von Kapiteln 4, 56).

Possible Extensions of (Kapitel 3) would be to support / Future work should address (Zeug, das mir beim Implementieren eingefallen ist, und/oder die ich nicht mehr implementiert gekriegt habe). Other interesting analyses, which would be beyond the scope of this diplom thesis, could investigate whether … (Sachen, die mir erst gegen Ende eingefallen sind, als kaum noch Zeit war, auch noch das zu untersuchen, v.a. weil ich dann die halbe Software hätte umschreiben müssen).

Appendix

Literaturverzeichnis

Optional

Den Index immer ganz am Ende bringen; dort erwartet man ihn als Leser. Die Reihenfolge der anderen drei Einträge ist nicht so fix. Einige Leute bringen die Liste der Bilder und der Tabellen sogar ganz am Anfang, also direkt hinter dem Inhaltsverzeichnis.

Wenn man einen Index macht, dann sollte man ihn bitte nicht halbherzig umsetzen, sondern nach Möglichkeit bitte alle Vorkommen eines Schlüsselwortes aufführen. Oder, noch besser, alle relevanten; aber alle ist einfacher und immer noch deutlich besser als alle, bei denen mir eingefallen ist, dass ich ja eigentlich einen Index anlegen wollte. Tja, und das geht am besten, wenn man es gleich von Anfang an durchzieht — und das wiederum wird einem übrigens stark vereinfacht, wenn man dabei auf die Tipps unten im Abschnitt mit LaΤεΧ-Tipps (\indexify-Kommando) zurückgreift.

Feingliederung

Bevor man anfängt, richtig aufzuschreiben, sollte man sich eine Gliederung überlegen und diese mit dem Betreuer durchsprechen. Hierbei sollte man folgendes bedenken:

Grundregeln für jedes Kapitel, jede Section, und die meisten Subsections

Rechtschreibung und Stil

Grundregeln für Grafiken und Tabellen etc.

LaΤεΧ-Spezifisches

Wenn Du etwas anderes verwendest als LaΤεΧ, dann bist Du, vorsichtig ausgedrückt, erstens sehr mutig, und zweitens hat Deine Diplomarbeit dann gute Chancen, vom typographischen Gesichtspunkt aus scheiße auszusehen. You have been warned.

Du kannst auch unsere LaTeX-Vorlage benutzen.

Verhübschungen

Arbeitsfluss optimieren

Typographie (gilt natürlich auch für Nicht-LaΤεΧ-Benutzer!)